Skip to content Skip to navigation

AERM Members

Future Conventions

2016: Spain

2017: Sweden

2018: UK

2019: Denmark

2020: Norway

The AERM was formed in Stockholm in June 2010.  The Alliance is formed of national republican (anti-monarchy) movements from each of the seven largest European monarchies.  Member organisations meet a number of times during the year to discuss campaign strategies and to share ideas and experiences.  

Each year the AERM holds a convention hosted by one of the member organisations. These are opportunities to work on more detailed analyses of our common issues and campaign strategies.

Here is an extract from the Alliance's governing document:

Amsterdam 2015

The 2015 AERM Convention was on the weekend of April 24-26 in Amsterdam.  The convention looked at long-term strategies and how to deal with common myths about benign monarchs, among other things.  The convention was hosted by NRG, the Dutch republican group.

The next AERM Convention will be from April 14-16, 2016 in Madrid.

Oslo 2014

The 2014 AERM convention was held in Oslo from April 4-6.  The convention discussed a range of campaigning issues, including a detailed comparison of member organisations, a look at campaign strategic development and digital communications.

The Oslo convention, hosted by Foreningen Norge Som Republikk, also discussed royal corruption and future developments of the AERM.


Previous AERM Conventions


2010: Stockholm, Sweden

2011: London, UK

2012: Copenhagen, Denmark

2013: Brussels, Belgium

AERM on Facebook